Watching History Being Made

(Paul here) I tried to stay up all night, but petered out at 2am (8pm EST) on the couch with ABCNews streaming on the laptop. I set my cell phone to go off at 4am (10pm EST), and woke up enough to hear that the election was not decided, so I set my phone again and woke up at 5am. I watched McCain concede a few minutes later in a tone that would have served him much better over the previous months.

History

BBC World ran election coverage all night long, and even now, four hours on, BBC World is still entirely devoted to the U.S. election. Every European newspaper site is leading with the news, often heralding it as indication that we moving past, healing our historical sins. Europe is thrilled to once again have a collaborative tone in America.

We woke up the girls shortly before 6am to watch Obama’s acceptance speech on a day, about an event, that will go down as one of the most significant in American history. A speech full of hope and a call for shared sacrifice.

It is amazing to see hundreds of thousands of people in Grant Park in Chicago. Many hundreds of thousands more gathering in public spaces across the U.S.

Walking the girls to school this morning, a father of one of their classmates said “Contratulations on your new president.” Yes, congratulations to us indeed.

And now time for sleep before getting to work.

3 Responses to Watching History Being Made

  1. Susan Young says:

    Yea!!!!! I think there were 1 million at Grant Park. We let Alberto sleep, but he was excited in the morning.

  2. T-Money says:

    I am so excited!! I even forgot to do some work I was supposed to do last night, because I was so engrossed in the election stuff!

  3. Lynette says:

    Dwight has been crying tears of happiness on the couch in front of the news for about a month now. I celebrated at school with my 4th graders with some BrainPop.com and doing our first Socratic Seminar with the students all learning how to discuss and listen to others ideas and me stepping to the side. Although I didn’t agree with everything my students said, I was thrilled to let them say it. Feels good to be an American!

Leave a Reply

