Our First Danish Christmas

We put up our Christmas tree today. Here’s some photos.

Without a car, we have to get creative in our transport methods. Paul bungie-corded the tree onto his bike and walked it home in the rain.

Bringing home the tree on the bike

Bringing home the tree on the bike

The girls of course are very excited to be decorating the tree. Hanging above the tree is a copper star from the 1950s Rachelle found in an antique shop for a few kroner.

The girls decorate the tree

The girls decorate the tree

Cate’s baby’s-First-Christmas ornament fell off the tree and shattered. She was very sad.

Cate's first ornament fell & broke, with tears ensuing.

Shattered Christmas Dreams

 To prevent further sadness, Cate took her special pickle ornament off the tree.

Sad, Sad Cate

Sad, Sad Cate

 These paper stars are very traditional in Denmark. This one took us a couple of hours to figure out how to make.

Danish Christmas Star

Danish Christmas Star

Here’s the final result. Christmas tree stands don’t appear to be used much in Denmark.

Our Christmas Tree

Our Christmas Tree

6 Responses to Our First Danish Christmas

  1. Elaine says:

    The tree looks lovely! I went to elementary school with a Danish-Canadian girl (ok I’m now going back in time over 30 years) and recall her telling me her family put real candles on the tree and would light them on Christmas Eve. Is this a still a common practice?

    I quite like the look of the tree without a stand.

    I’m impressed with your star. Very skillful origami (or the Danish equivalent).

  2. Tonya says:

    Aww…I miss hanging out in your living room with the tree lit…drinking some form of tasty beverage…you usually knitting, Paul mixing said tasty beverages, and the girls treating us to a Christmas carol singing/dancing show. We miss you!!!!!!

  3. Susan Young says:

    What a fantastic tree! I would have loved to seen the bike ride back from the tree lot.

    Catie, I think it’s a curse of being the youngest that extra special ornaments sometimes get dropped and shatter. It used to happen to me every year. It was so sad. It seemed it was always one of my dad’s treasured ornaments from his childhood (and he was quite old!). I guess it reminds us to treasure what we have for the time we have it and not to hold onto possessions too tightly. It’s still sad though.

    My aunts told me stories of lighting real candles on the tree. Can you imagine?!

    Rachelle, we got a copy of “how many miles to Bethlehem” on your blog’s recommendation from last year. It’s beautiful. A little mysterious why the idea of the title isn’t in the book, but other than that we like it. I also got a copy of Maggi Dawn’s advent book and have enjoyed previewing it so far. Today begins advent – I’m excited to dig in now.

    Blessings, susan

  4. magpiegirl777 says:

    Susu,

    That is my favorite Christmas book. I also love The Nativity by…ummm..the same woman who illustrated Wilfrid Gordon MacDonald Partridge. An Aussie, I believe.

    Thanks for your kind words to Catie. She was extradorinarily sad.

    Love and Misses!

  5. Bluefish says:

    Hello there, I came from Laura’s blog. It’s great to read more expats living in DK. I have not yet move to DK, but I’m married to a Dane. I’m looking forward to read more about your family’s adventures.

    Take care.

  6. Amber says:

    You guys are so resourceful! I remember taking a wagon to the transfer station with Paul. Catie, I’m sorry about your special ornament! Glad you saved the pickle though. It’s a beautiful tree…

Leave a Reply

