The Apocolypse is Nigh

For the last week, a very light layer of ash has been decending upon Copenhagen due to the eruption of the Eyjafjallajokull volcano in Iceland that started April 15. Transportation all around Europe has ground to a halt, with air traffic completely closed. Trains, ferries, and buses between cities have been filled to capacity. Rental cars are impossible to find, and some (rich) people have spent thousands of dollars on taxi cab rides between major cities.

Yesterday we had some rain, hopefully washing the ash out of the sky. Today the rain was followed by hail, and now snow.

I think I saw a seven-headed beast in the woods during my commute home.

Or perhaps, as my Danish collegue said, “Welcome to spring in Denmark.”

One Response to The Apocolypse is Nigh

  1. Suzie Ridler says:

    Wow, to be so personally touched by that volcano eruption, that must be hard in some ways too. I hope the rain washes away the ash and I am so curious about the seven-headed beast!

    I really wanted to thank you for your comment on my dreamboard. It infused me with the belief that maybe travelling Europe and really being a food writer and photographer will really happen. Thank you so much for that.

Leave a comment